

Douglas College Board Meeting Minutes

JANUARY 20, 2011 OPEN SESSION MEETING

5:00 p.m., David Lam Campus Boardroom

Open Meeting File 2011-01-20, approved February 17, 2011

IN ATTENDANCE Board Members

Administration

Observers

Board Members Bruce Clarke Daniel Fontaine Mary Hemmingsen, Vice Chair Peter Kendrick, Vice Chair

4. PRESIDENT'S REPORTS

4.1 Douglas College 2010 – 2015 Strategic Plan: Update

4.2 President's Report

The President highlighted a number of items contained within his report, including Nancy Constable's commencement in the role of Director of Safety, Security and Risk Management. He advised of the upcoming College-wide Professional Development Day, scheduled for February 9, 2011, and invited Board members to attend the subsequent reception and book launch celebrating the publication of *Douglas College: The First 40 Years*. The President noted the implementation of new video conference teaching classrooms at the College's David Lam and New Westminster Campuses, and commended those staff members, including Bruce Clarke, who dedicated extra hours over the recent holidays to ensure this endeavour would be successful. On behalf of the Board, the Chair offered appreciation for the recruitment of the Director of Safety, Security and Risk Management, noting that oversight of risk management had been and would remain high on this Board's priorities.

The President reported that he and his Senior Management Team (SMT) colleagues were progressing with development of a strategic implementation plan, with metrics and timelines, and on a communications device to support messaging on the Plan and our progress to members of t

6.6 Board Chair's Report, cont'd

The Chair also noted the "40 after 40" feature on the College website, and the profile of Bruce Clarke and his wife Helen Clarke, both College alumni and employees, who were featured alongside other alumni and employees.

Note: Such profiles may be found at <u>http://www.douglas.bc.ca/celebrate40/40-after-40.html</u> and include Suzette Amaya, Heather Anderson, Keith Baldry, Elizabeth Bachinsky, John Banovich, Arleigh Bell, John Belshaw, John Bertram, Steven Bittle, Kylah Blair, Jerome Bouvier, Phillip Choi, Yuka Chokyu, Kelly Christie, Anu Dawit-Kanna, Kara Dooley, Fred Ewaniuck, Julie Fraser, Mahshid G., Patrick Gallagher, Greg Halseth, Daniel Igali, Diane Loomer, Archie Miller, Hiruth Mwandemere, the Honourable James Moore, Lisa Neilson, Sumiko Nishizawa, Scott Richmond, Wolfgang Roosch, Lance Ryan, Hooman S., Barb Sekhon, Gert van Niekerk, Cathy Tremblay, Henry Waack, Jerald Walliser, Fay Wong and Dean Wutke.

7. NEXT MEETING AND ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:05 p.m., with the next Open Session meeting confirmed for a 5:00 p.m. start in the New Westminster Campus boardroom on Thursday, February 17, 2011.

CHAIR

PRESIDENT