

Douglas College Board Meeting Minutes

FEBRUARY 17, 2011 OPEN SESSION MEETING

5:00 p.m., New Westminster Campus Boardroom

Open Meeting File 2011-02-17, approved March 17, 2011

IN ATTENDANCE
Board Members
Bruce Clarke
Daniel Fontaine
Mary Hemmingsen*, Vice Chair
Peter Kendrick, Vice Chair
Scott McAlpine, President (ex-officio)
Mike Russell
Sydney Tomchenko
Jim Utley
Don Valeri
Paul Wates, Chair
Shelley Williams

Administration Kathy Denton, Vice President, Academic Shelagh Donnelly, Executive Assistant to the College Board; recording Blaine Jensen, Vice President, Educational Services Maureen McGee, Administrative Assistant; administrative support Karen Maynes, Vice President, Finance and Administration Guangwei Ouyang, Associate Vice President, International Education Hazel Postma, Associate Vice President, External Relations Vicki Shillington for the Associate Vice President, Employee Relations Dave Taylor, Director, Marketing and Communications Office (MCO) Chris Worsley, Director, Finance

Observers

Jerin Mece, DSU Sandra Hochstein, DCFA

GUESTS

Gerry Della Mattia, author, *Douglas College – The First 40 Years* Terry Leonard**, Director, Facilities Services

REGRETS Board Member(s)

Aiko Lim Elizabeth McCausland, Education Council Chair (ex-officio) Raj Dehal Nibber Administration n/a

Observer(s) Mark Ferley, BCGEU

* late arrival ** departed subsequent to consideration of associated agenda item

1. CALL TO ORDER AND CHAIR'S REMARKS

There being a quorum, Chair Paul Wates called the meeting to order at 5:14 p.m. Noting regrets from those unable

7. NEXT MEETING AND ADJOURNMENT

The President commended Gerry Della Mattia on an outstanding job in writing the book *Douglas College – The First 40 Years*.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:48 p.m., with the next Open Session meeting confirmed for a 5:00 p.m. start in the New Westminster Campus boardroom on Thursday, March 17, 2011.

CHAIR

PRESIDENT